Exploration Vessel Nautilus Introduction

Hello all! I just wanted to share a quick bio with you all along with my interests and expectations from the NOAA Nautilus exploration.

My name is Melinda Martinez, and I received my Bachelors of Science in Marine and Freshwater Biology from The University of Texas at Austin in 2012. I am currently enrolled in the Masters of Science program at Texas A&M University – Corpus Christi in the Department of Physical and Environmental Science. I am conducting my research in the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies. My research topic focuses on short-term wetland sediment accretion rates on Mustang Island, Texas. I am examining sedimentation rates over a range of time scales to provide insight into the factors that control marsh elevation and sedimentation processes. My research seeks to contribute to the fields of coastal research by providing modern accretion rates and assess the major influences that could possibly be used to improve models used to help predict evolutionary changes of coastal wetlands, such as the Sea-Level Affecting Marshes Model (SLAMM).

A few of my interests include coastal research, using Geographic Information System, remote sensing, and field techniques for inventory and monitoring of the coastal environment. I am eager to learn how to process digital data to help create useful information. I hope to learn about how multibeam echosounder sonar collects data such as surface sediment characteristics, and how it is used to locate hydrothermal vents and oil seeps. I am also interested in ROV deployments and dive planning.

I will be sharing information about my experiences aboard the EV Nautilus through a daily blog. My blog will also be disseminated through the Harte Research Institute for Gulf of Mexico Studies webpage through the Coastal and Marine Geospatial Lab blog: http://harteresearchinstitute.org/geospace-blog

Photo Copyright: Ocean Exploration Trust

Leave a Reply

